My vegan street cred is ruined.  I consumed more meat in this episode than I probably ever have before.  As if that wasn’t bad enough, during the segment that introduces Southern BBQ, my cameraman thought it would be hilarious to smear BBQ sauce on my face.  After watching the episode, I realized that it did serve its comedic purpose quite well.  But during the shoot it made my face feel like it was on fire and we realized that he chose the HABANERO sauce as a comedic prop.  Anything for the sake of good television, right!?  Needless to say I soaked my face in a bowl of ice cream afterwards to ease the pain of hot sauce burns.

I hope you enjoy the episode.  We had a blast shooting it.  Charleston is a beautiful city.  It feels like the biggest small town I’ve ever visited.

